Skip to main content

Raddy announces final squad of 22 for AFF Suzuki Cup

(Media Information from the Football Association of Singapore)

SINGAPORE, 26 November 2010: National Coach Radojko Avramovic (pictured above center) has called up his final 22 ahead of the AFF Suzuki Cup as the Lions gear up to reclaim the AFF Cup for an unprecedented fourth time, having won the region’s most prestigious tournament in 1998, 2004 and 2007.

Coach Radojko has picked an experience side with a vast majority of the players featuring in previous AFF Cup competitions. The last player who failed to make the cut was Home Untied’s Tengku Mushadad.

“I'm looking at the positions and who can cover which position and in the end, Tengku is the one (to miss out). He tried very hard, and I am thankful for that, but maybe his time is not now. Maybe in the future he will have more opportunities with the National Team,” said Avramovic.

Most notably, Hariss Harun has been ruled out of the biennial tournament for the second time after sustaining a fractured fibula at the Asian Games earlier this month. Despite an initial injury scare this month, Home United custodian Lionel Lewis has been declared fit to feature in his third consecutive AFF Cup tournament.

Drawn in Group B, Singapore will open their campaign against Philippines on Thursday, 2 December before playing Myanmar on Sunday, 5 December. The Lions will take on co-host Vietnam in their final group on Wednesday, 8 December. Group A features co-hosts Indonesia, Malaysia, Laos, and Thailand.

Full Name Position Club / Country Caps Goals
Lionel Lewis GK Home United 68 0
Hassan Sunny GK Tampines Rovers 29 0
Izwan Mahbud GK Young Lions 0 0
Juma'at Jantan DF Home United 15 0
Rosman Sulaiman DF Home United 9 0
Baihakki Khaizan DF Persib Bandung (INA) 75 2
Precious Emuejeraye DF Persija Jakarta (INA) 54 0
Daniel Bennett DF SAFFC 95 6
Afiq Yunos DF Young Lions 2 0
Safuwan Baharudin DF Young Lions 3 0
Noh Rahman DF/MF SAFFC 74 0
Ridhuan Muhamad MF Arema (INA) 58 3
Isa Halim MF Home United 30 0
Mustafic Fahrudin MF Persela Lamongan (INA) 51 6
Shahril Ishak MF Persib Bandung (INA) 79 5
Shahdan Sulaiman MF Tampines Rovers 1 0
Noh Alam Shah FW Arema (INA) 77 35
Masrezwan Masturi FW Geylang United 22 2
Fazrul Nawaz FW Gombak United 42 3
Khairul Amri FW Persiba Balikpapan (INA) 62 9
Agu Casmir FW Persija Jakarta (INA) 33 12
Aleksandar Duric FW Tampines Rovers 29 12