Skip to main content

Here are the nominees .... [edited]

(Complied with information from media release by the Football Association of Singapore)

No surprise as notable performers are being nominated for the various awards at the annual S.League Awards Nite to be held at St James Power House this coming Sunday (21st November).

League's top scorer Etoile FC's striker Fred Mendy's (pictured above) name is the nomination lists for both Player and Young Player of the Year awards.

Having coached his team to the title on its first season, Etoile's Patrick Vallee will face stiff challenge from fellow debutante?Lee Lim Saeng of Home United, as well as former winners Richard Bok of SAFFC and Stags' Vorawan Chitavanich with dark horse Darren Stewart from Gombak United for the Coach of the Year award.

Awards regular Tampines Rovers' evergreen Aleksandar Duric with another veteran Md Noor Ali of Woodlands Wellington will also be honoured on the same evening for hitting the milestone of 300 goals and 100 goals respectively in the recent concluded season.

The three nominees (L-R): Edwin Lee of "Assistant Referee of the Year", Shahril Ishak (Player of the Year), Taisuke Akiyoshi (Young Player of the Year)

Despite plying his trade in Indonesia now, national skipper Shahril Ishak's sparkingly form should not be forgotten as the former Protector is vying for the prestigious Player of the Year award.

In honour for his distinguished contribution to local football, a special award will be presented to the late "Raja Gelek" Mr Dollah Kassim, who passed away recently.


GREAT EASTERN Player of the Year
The 4 nominees are:
1. Frederic Mendy (Etoile FC)
2. Shahril Ishak (Home United FC)
3. Aleksandar Duric (Tampines Rovers FC
4. Hassan Sunny (Tampines Rovers FC)

YEO’S Young Player of the Year
The 5 nominees are:
1. Frederic Mendy (Etoile FC)
2. Mamadou Diallo (Sengkang Punggol FC)
3. Taisuke Akiyoshi (Singapore Armed Forces FC)
4. Shahdan Sulaiman (Tampines Rovers FC)
5. Hariss Harun (Young Lions)

MIKASA Coach of the Year
The 5 nominees are:
1. Patrick Vallee (Etoile FC)
2. Darren Stewart (Gombak United FC)
3. Lee Lim Saeng (Home United FC)
4. Richard Bok (Singapore Armed Forces FC)
5. Vorawan Chitavanich (Tampines Rovers FC)


  1. good lineup and deserving candidates. i have also made my predictions on who is going to win the young player of the year awards after some analysis. will do for coach of the year and player of the year as well at cheers pohui!


Post a Comment

While I allow comment/feedback to be posted using Anonymous mode but comments containing discrimination of race, derogatory terms and seditious remarks will NOT be tolerated and will be deleted, if necessary, at the blog owner

Please do not abuse it, thanks

And the blog owner WILL not be responsible for comments by visitors except those of his own

All comments are subjected to moderation and publish upon determination, thanks

Thank You for your kind attention

Ko Po Hui

Please Check Out These Posts Below Before You Leave

The "Russian Tank" of Singapore Football - Borhan Abu Samah

Unleashing Talent: The Singapore Youth League (SYL) Set To Revolutionize Singaporean Football


Singapore's 1987 "Malaysia Cup" Squad